This is the "Home" page of the "Special Education Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Special Education Resources  

These resources may be available through your IEP or 504 Plan.
Last Updated: May 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.colonial.net/content.php?pid=204176 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Audio Books

These resources may be available through your IEP or 504 plan.

  • AudioOwl
    A wide selection of free public domain audiobooks Includes classics such as Romeo & Juliet, Jane Eyre, and Our Mutual Friend, as well as YA and teen novels, non-fiction, mysteries and other genres.
  • ThoughtAudio
    Thought Audio audio books are professionally narrated works that you can listen to online or download to play offline. The library of audio books on Thought Audio contains some titles that are hard to find as audio files. For example you'll find titles like Thus Spoke Zarathustra, The Life of PT Barnum, and The Madman. You'll also find more commonly read titles like Alice in Wonderland.
  • National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (NLS)
    his service, provided for by the Library of Congress, provides braille and audio materials to those with visual and learning disabilities
  • Learning Ally
    Their collection of more than 65,000 digitally recorded textbooks and literature titles are downloadable and accessible on mainstream as well as specialized assistive technology devices.
  • iTunes U
    More than 350,000 free lectures, videos, films, and other resources — from all over the world. iTunes U works with VoiceOver, the built-in screen reader on the Mac, as well as with compatible screen readers on PCs.
  • Lit2Go
    Lit2Go is a free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format.
  • Accessible Book Collection

Web 2.0 Tools

These resources may be available through your IEP or 504 plan.

  • 60 Second Recap
    Short (60-second) video study guides. The library on this site includes works of literature, as well as writing guides and quick explanations of literary terms.
  • Shmoop
    Study guides on a variety of topics. Also includes guides to essay writing and note taking.
  • Mindomo
    Another mind-mapping tool that lets students create a visual map of their thoughts or notes, brainstorm ideas, and create flowcharts or storyboards.
    Mindomo allows you to embed video, audio, and pictures, collaborate in real time, and work on projects offline.
  • Bubbl.us
    Another mind-mapping tool that lets students create a visual map of their thoughts or notes, brainstorm ideas, and create flowcharts or storyboards.
    Users create “Bubbles” containing an idea, link them together, drag them and zoom in and out using the flash interface. You can also save your charts once you’re done.
  • Popplet
    A mind-mapping tool that lets students create a visual map of their thoughts or notes, brainstorm ideas, and create flowcharts or storyboards.
    Popplet is an app for the web and iPad, where you can collect, curate and share your ideas, inspirations, and projects.

Text to Voice

These resources may be available through your IEP or 504 plan

  • Bookshare.org
    Bookshare is an online library of digital books for people with print disabilities. Members download books, textbooks and newspapers in a compressed, encrypted file. They then read the material using adaptive technology, typically software that reads the book aloud (text-to-speech) and/or displays the text of the book on a computer screen, or Braille access devices, such as refreshable Braille displays. iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch Users Can Read Bookshare Books with the Read2Go app.
  • ReadTheWords.com
    ReadTheWords.com is a free, web based service that assists people with written material. Users can generate a clear sounding audio file from almost any written material.
  • TextEdit on Mac
    Using this editor (instead of Word) makes it easier to convert text to audio.
  • Apple VoiceOver
    All Macs can be configured with screen-reading technology that allows students to hear a spoken description of what’s onscreen, and control their computer using only the keyboard (no mouse required). They can also use VoiceOver to browse the web, chat, send and receive email, use iTunes, edit text documents, and more.
  • Kurzweil Text Reader
    Kurzweil Text Reader is available on a desktop computer in the 3rd floor Media Lab and on computers throughout the district.
 

Voice to Text

Dragon Dictate and MacSpeech are both available through the district via an IEP or 504 plan. These tools allow users to use their voice instead of typing or clicking a mouse to control the computer or input text.

Organizational Tools

These resources may be available through your IEP or 504 plan.

  • Popplet
    A mind-mapping tool that lets students create a visual map of their thoughts or notes, brainstorm ideas, and create flowcharts or storyboards.
    Popplet is an app for the web and iPad, where you can collect, curate and share your ideas, inspirations, and projects.
  • Bubbl.us
    Another mind-mapping tool that lets students create a visual map of their thoughts or notes, brainstorm ideas, and create flowcharts or storyboards.
    Users create “Bubbles” containing an idea, link them together, drag them and zoom in and out using the flash interface. You can also save your charts once you’re done.
  • Mindomo
    Another mind-mapping tool that lets students create a visual map of their thoughts or notes, brainstorm ideas, and create flowcharts or storyboards.
    Mindomo allows you to embed video, audio, and pictures, collaborate in real time, and work on projects offline.
  • DropBox
    Dropbox allows you to sync your files online and across your computers automatically. It works with Mac and Windows, and automatically syncs when new files or changes are detected. Files can be shared with others.
  • Inspiration
    For visual mapping, outlining, writing and making presentations. This software is available through the district.
  • Co:Writer
    Co:Writer works in conjunction with any application you write in like MS Word, Online, Blogs, Email, etc. As you type, Co:Writer interprets spelling and grammar mistakes and offers word suggestions in real time. This software is available through the district.

Accessibility Tools

  • Graphic Adaptations
    The Learning Commons has 200+ graphic novels and classic adaptations. Check out the catalog tutorial to see how to search for them. You can also try the Graphic Novel Resource List for a quick list.
  • Apple VoiceOver
    All Macs can be configured with screen-reading technology that allows students to hear a spoken description of what’s onscreen, and control their computer using only the keyboard (no mouse required). They can also use VoiceOver to browse the web, chat, send and receive email, use iTunes, edit text documents, and more.
  • Co:Writer
    Co:Writer works in conjunction with any application you write in like MS Word, Online, Blogs, Email, etc. As you type, Co:Writer interprets spelling and grammar mistakes and offers word suggestions in real time. This software is available through the district.
  • Kurzweil Text Reader
    Kurzweil Text Reader is available on a desktop computer in the 3rd floor Media Lab and on computers throughout the district.
  • Headphones
    Headphones for noise cancellation or listening to audio are available at the circulation desk or in the Media Lab.
  • Google Accessible Search
    Google Labs product designed to identify and prioritize search results that are more easily usable by blind and visually impaired users. Regular Google search helps you find a set of documents that is most relevant to your tasks. Accessible Search goes one step further by helping you find the most accessible pages in that result set.
  • Using Google Accessibility Features
    Accessibility features for blind and low vision users, and deaf and hard-of-hearing users.
  • Apple Technology for Diverse Learners
    PDF - This guide written by Apple Distinguished Educators shows how to personalize a Mac to suit a learner’s needs and help get the most out of the features and applications on the Mac.
  • Microsoft Accessibility Guide
    This guide from Microsoft provides information about accessibility and accessible technology to help educators worldwide ensure that all students have equal access to learning with technology.
  • Smart Pens
    Smart Pens are available through the district to help with reading, comprehension, and note-taking.

Digital Storytelling

Useful Links and Resources

Contacts

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip