Search the catalog at CCHS, or at the Concord Public Library. Suggested search terms:
- Slave trade -- Africa
- Slave Trade -- America
- Slave Trade -- America -- History
Call Number: REF 031 WOR
* Slave trade
* Individual tribe names or port cities
World History in Context contains global sources of information, including primary sources and statistical data. The password is: conc34805
- West African Tribes and Empires
This is part of the “Art & Life in Africa” Project. Provides basic information about tribes, as well as links to more information.
- The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition
Their online document collection includes speeches, letters, cartoons and graphics, interviews, and articles, organized by author, date, subject, and document type. An excellent resource for primary sources.
- Voyages Database
This comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world, with information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes.
- Africans in America: The Terrible Transformation, 1450-1750
This website created to accompany a PBS series includes a narrative history of the Middle Passage, historical documents, and links to other resources.
- The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas, a Visual Record
This site contains digital versions of more than 1,000 images, many from the days of slavery. This is a project of The Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and The Digital Media Lab at the University of Virginia Library.
- Digital Library of American Slavery
Offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color. Designed as a tool for scholars, historians, teachers, students, genealogists, and interested citizens, the site provides access to information gathered and analyzed over an eighteen-year period from petitions to southern legislatures and country courts filed between 1775 and 1867 in the fifteen slave-holding states in the United States and the District of Columbia.
- 16th through 20th Century Maps of Africa
This site has a searchable collection of digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa along with the accompanying text. The maps were collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University.