This is the "Song of Solomon" page of the "Song of Solomon" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Song of Solomon  

The homepage for your Song of Solomon information literacy project.
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.colonial.net/content.php?pid=277167 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Song of Solomon Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Page Content

  • Rubrics
  • Project Description
  • Research Topic     
 

Finding Images

American Memory

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

·         Gullah

·         Pullman porters

·         Robert E. Lee

·         Tuskegee Airmen

·         Roosevelt

·         Red Summer (search “race riots 1919”)

·         Birmingham (search “Birmingham, AL bombing)

·         92nd and 93rd Infantry

 


Documenting the American South

http://docsouth.unc.edu/

·         Gullah

·         Pullman porters

·         Red Summer (search “race riots 1919”)

 


New York Public Library Digital Gallery

http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/index.cfm

·         Albert Schweitzer

·         Robert E. Lee

 


Veterans History Project Pages

http://www.loc.gov/vets/

·         92nd and 93rd Infantry (search for Roscoe Tyson Spann)


Interview with Butterfly McQueen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMlBlQJyUTE

 

Source Evaluation

 

Project Description

Project

  • Find and cite two (2) authoritative sources for your topic overview presentation. 
  • Use Noodletools to make, share, and submit your assignment.



Goals

  1. Sharpen your online search, evalulation and citation skills
  2. Deepen your knowledge of the setting of Song of Solomon



Expectations

  • Citations will use MLA Advanced format
  • All sources will be authoritative 




Definition


Authoritative sources are created and reviewed by scholars, professional editors, or organizations. You will find them in databases, websites and books.  They include primary sources like original texts, interviews, video, or audio. For a source to be authoritative, you need to know who wrote the material and who has published it.  

The authority of databases and books are easier to determine than websites you find using open Google searches, which require digging and sometimes additional searches of organizations and writers.




 

NoodleTools

NoodleTools

NoodleTools helps you organize all your research needs from start to finish.  Create an account, or re-validate your old account. If you have any problems or questions email or stop by and talk to any member of the Learning Commons staff. We are here to help! 

 

Today's Class

Today, you will learn:
  1. How to evaluate a source you find in a database search.
  2. Identify the type of source you want to cite.
  3. Create an annotated citation using NoodleTools. 
 

Research Topics

92nd and 93rd Infantry Division in WW1

Robert E. Lee

Tuskegee Airmen

Roosevelt & Polio

Pullman Porters

Gullah

Albert Schweitzer

Red Summer

Birmingham, AL Bombing 16th St. Baptist Church

Butterfly McQueen

DATABASES

GALE DATABASES

 

Gale Databases - Gale InfoTrac offers a variety of databases. Read the descriptions to find the database that best meets your information needs. General OneFile and Academic OneFile are two you should always include in your search. Login is automatic through this link. No username/password necessary.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip